This too shall pass

Oh Discouragement, your visits are like a time-out in a sensory deprivation tank filled with peanut butter. Redundant. You try to convince me that everyone is small minded, that they only care about the short term. I ask you, what about the often touted “live in the now”? You tell me no one has passion or zeal for what they really want so maybe they don’t really want it. I ask you, what of all this moderation we are urged to embrace?

Oh Discouragement, I don’t know whence you came, but while you are here there is one thing which, like a pill or a cross, gets me through your visits; the idea that you are temporary. That you are a phase or a stage. That once you’re gone I can get on with my zealous moderation.

Discouragement, if I didn’t learn so much from your visits, I am sure I would find a way to banish you forever.

2 thoughts on “This too shall pass

  1. On discouragement…..ONCE THERE WAS A SILLY OLD RAM THOUGHT HE’D
    PUNCH A HOLE IN A DAM. EVERYONE TOLD THAT RAM SCRAM
    HE KEPT BUTTING THAT DAM CAUSE HE HAD HIGH HOPES HE HAD HIGH HOPES
    HE KEPT BUTTING THAT DAM OOPS THERE GOES A MLLION KILO WATT DAM
    You see just like that ram Rebecca can’t be discouraged
    If we didn’t have rain how would we know when it’s sunny.
    Discouragement is like a big bell ringing…bong it’s there like
    a surprise but as the echo fades the pain leaves never to be
    forgotten it s rung up to another little disapointment nd one
    continues on ……….until the next visit….BUT…never give in
    never surrender always prevail…..by being successfull and happy
    Fraser McBurney

Leave a Reply

